RSS

“I’m Jewish and I know it”

21 Feb

LMFAO's "I'm sexy and I know it"

Ok… I can’t get this stupid song out of my head and my kids want to play it on you-tube all the time. Yesterday, I got an email from an Ancestry.com connection whose tree matched up with mine. It was my grandfather’s brother’s granddaughter. We have been corresponding back and forth and filling in gaps with our trees when she says she was not raised Jewish. I was thinking, “Wow, we have non-jewish Weitz’s in our family?”  She was saying how she is doing the tree for the same reasons as I am for our kids and future generations. So…these christian 4th cousins of mine have orthodox jews in their family history.  How interesting it must be for them.  Which brings me to http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gvjbLYXnQmE   So… this isn’t your grandfather’s type of Jews but I find it funny to laugh at ourselves.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 21, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to ““I’m Jewish and I know it”

  1. Vikki Green

    February 21, 2012 at 3:43 pm

    Are we related? I know I am Jewish!!! I am so excited for you Beth! How exciting and what a wonderful event!!! I can hardly wait to hear about your trip and will continue to check into your blog. What a fun trip to plan!!!!

     
  2. Stella Zack

    April 5, 2012 at 11:16 pm

    Hi Beth! I saw that you have started blogging and found this page… I will check out your you tube link later but I can’t tell you how much it means to me to have found you and share our history. Years ago my father and I were having a discussion about whether we would be considered Jewish because of him and he told me no that the history has to come from the mother…He told me that was because only the mother knew who fathered her children so if she were a Jewess, then her children would be considered Jewish….I think it is absolutely great that my faith encompasses all of the history….from both my Jewish heritage and my Christian upbringing…. The beauty and richness of the services I attended when I was a child brought a richness to my faithwalk that many of my friends never understood.

     
  3. Beth Katz

    April 6, 2012 at 6:25 am

    Stella, yes this one is about you. Well said what you have above. xxxoo 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
