RSS

My “who do you think you are moment”.

22 Jun

Today we went to the central archives. About 3 months ago I ordered a bunch of archives to be printed out for me. ( I wish I had them translated too) I got 3 records. One written in Hebrew and the other ones in Belarusian. I will try to have someone translate before I leave. One was of my great-grandfather’s birth written in Hebrew, the next was a voting list of my great-great grandfather with his signature. And the third is a business document of this business which was listed as agriculture. We know he had a flax factory. We still have many archives to get in Kaunas but this was rather cool. We also saw original books, seals, and elaborate royal family trees. Original seals of the Grand Duke of Lithuania and hand written 15th century bibles. When we go on our roots tour to rural Lithuania I hope to see the factory in Jurbarkas.

20120622-182359.jpg

Document showing my great great grandfather was on the board of electors for Jurbarkas, Lithuania in 1888

20120622-182406.jpg

My gg grandfather’s tax information, it was written in Russian. He grossed 6000 rubles, 360 profit, hesis the son of Wolf Libovsky, he owns his own house on Kovno street, he sells agriculture product, has 1 office and there is one employee in the company, he is a 3rd level merchant, (thank you Simon!)

20120622-182412.jpg

my great grandfather (Sol Freeman) birth certificate

20120622-182428.jpg

getting my records at the archives

20120622-182444.jpg

original documents from the Grand Duke of Lithuania and his seal

20120622-182459.jpg

an old christian bible

20120622-182512.jpg

Grand Duke’s seal

20120622-182523.jpg

beautiful family tree

 
 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “My “who do you think you are moment”.

  1. Tom Freeman

    June 22, 2012 at 8:45 am

    Really hard to read. Wouldn’t mind getting a higher resolution picture to see if I can make out anything. I presume it is Yiddish, not Hebrew, no? As of now I can’t make out enough to tell.

     
    • Beth Katz

      June 22, 2012 at 1:19 pm

      Tom, I have the documents I will scan them when I get home I will be getting more on Tuesday when we are in Kaunas.

       
  2. Paula Schulman

    June 22, 2012 at 9:18 am

    arlene and i just read your email and its wonderful how you are documenting everything. i am on her computer and we are having a wonderful visit. i can’t wait to open up another computer when i get to my mothers to catch up with your daily adventures. love from the both of us.

     
  3. Paula Schulman

    June 22, 2012 at 9:23 am

    Would love to be added to your wonderful postings from Poland. You are a great historian
    and photographer. I know you will continue having a grand journey. Love to Florene. My
    email is agmerv1@gmail.com. If this is too difficult Paula will forward them to me.
    Love, Arlene

     
  4. Tom Freeman

    June 22, 2012 at 1:04 pm

    I guess I can make out the name Freiman in the box. Man, that is some crazy Hebrew/Yiddish cursive writing. The cursive Belarusan looks like it would be hard to decipher, too, even if one knew the alphabet

     

Leave a Reply

 
