RSS

Is cyberstalking so bad?

15 Jan

imagesCA6N82MD

I think everyone close to me (and now public in the Phoenix Jewish News article from last week) knows that I am pretty passionate about doing genealogy research on my Ancestry.com Family Tree.  In the article, I admit to being a Facebook stalker.  I may be incorrect but I feel like if you had someone who is doing research on documenting your family tree and you were in that family, wouldn’t you want to know? It is not like I am looking to become best friends; just friendly.   I usually message , “hi, I just wanted to let you know I have done a lot of research on our family and if you are interested, I can send you an invite to our tree”   I usually include how we are related with names.  It is funny…of the family that I have stalked (easy with the “I’m related to” section of Facebook) about 20% have responded. The rest have ignored my message.  My picture is rather normal…I don’t have crazy cat pictures on my wall… wondering why they don’t respond?  It’s ok because the ones I do communicate with have been gems.

I think it is amazing to know I have found family members that are/have been incredible things like….optometrists, butchers, 2  in NFL personnel, Rabbis, writers, the  founder of IHOP, a Holocaust survivor living 3 years in the woods, embroiders, Doctors, actors, flax dealer,  bartenders, Cantors, painters, and a tattoo artist.  Still connecting the dots on Al Jolson…  It is written that he was born in my great great grandmother’s house, she was supposedly his Aunt.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 15, 2013 in Ancestry, Family Tree, Jewish, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Is cyberstalking so bad?

  1. Mimi

    January 15, 2013 at 9:18 pm

    Enjoyed reading..shame on those who would respond…Mimi

     
    • Beth Katz

      January 15, 2013 at 9:20 pm

      agree! maybe someday they will come around when their kids are in middle school and have to do a family tree project, lol!

       
  2. aaron

    January 15, 2013 at 10:09 pm

    when you get tired/bored of the people not responding in your family tree, you can start on mine. maybe my family will be more open to some stalking.

     
  3. Tom Freeman

    January 15, 2013 at 11:55 pm

    Hey, what’s wrong with having crazy cat pictures on your wall? Also, want to hear more about the NFL connections in the family. We do have at least 4 NFL owners in the family.

     
  4. harshitmishra139

    January 29, 2013 at 12:52 pm

    Reblogged this on harshitmishra139.

     
  5. Dana Rose

    July 12, 2014 at 12:55 pm

    There is nothing at all wrong with cat pictures! BTW, here is a question: Katz — are you related to actors William Katz (Bill Williams, cowboy actor) and William Katz (The Greatest American Hero) husband and son of Barbara Hale (“Della Street” on Perry Mason)? Also, do you have connection to Jerry Lewis’ family, because he had an aunt, Rose Brodsky who married Harry Katz and they had 3 children, Marshall, Judy, Natalie? Also, “stalking” has a negative connotation, so do not use it. Create another term for what you do. You are a geneology hobbiest.

     

Leave a Reply

 
