RSS

Digital Dust

15 Aug
DAD with coast guard buds

Frank Weitz with his Coast Guard buddies

Was cleaning out my closet a few days ago and found a ton of family pictures.  I seem to now be the curator of anything “family tree”.  It is a difficult position to be in because I didn’t know a lot of these people and hate to make assumptions of who they are and how we are related.  I scanned and posted a picture the other day and the comments went wild.  Made me think that maybe I should scan the rest of these pictures and make a Facebook page so people can add to it and pull the pictures for themselves as they want/need them.   It also helps with the “who is who” in the family.  I have 2700+people now in the Weitz-Katz Family tree. I try to attach pictures of the people in the tree when I have them.   I listen to Howard Stern and they always have a commercial for printing pictures, “why have those pictures create digital dust when you can print them for everyone to see”  So… here they are.  Feldman’s-Freeman’s-Weitz’s-Soloff’s-etc…, check out the FB page and please post.

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Family-Photos-life-before-they-were-our-parents-and-grandparents/1650077061946269

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 15, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Digital Dust

  1. A City Girl

    August 16, 2015 at 12:11 pm

    I have Tupperware bins full of photos. My great grandmother bless her soul labeled each and every one of them. my great uncle labeled none. I find it easier to set up photobucket on my phone and take photos of the photos which then automatically upload to my online photo album. I can then go in and write the comments word for word on each photo and people can comment on who is who. Later you can search by name to find specific people. You should think about that. Facebook is building profiles on everyone and I am not sure I would trust them to be the curator of my photos!!

     
    • Beth Katz

      August 16, 2015 at 12:54 pm

      Thank you! Great idea.

       
    • Beth Katz

      October 29, 2015 at 4:53 pm

      great advice, thank you!

       

Leave a Reply

 
