RSS

Zookeeper’s wife

01 Apr
Zookeeper’s wife

Wasn’t planning on blogging tonight but I was hit with so much emotion after watching “The Zookeeper’s Wife” tonight.  In 2012 my mom and I went to Warsaw to start our Roots Tour. The first day when we arrived our guide Graznya took us on a brief tour of Warsaw before we went on the train to Krakow. Tonight the places we saw became so incredibly real on screen. The scenes of the Warsaw ghetto and the bombed out Old Town became so real.  I thought of this picture that I took in the area that was the Ghetto where they posted photos of people who lived there before they killed the Jews. The wall is just a symbol of tiles of mosaic in the street.  There are pictures all over Warsaw of what it looked like after the war. It was nearly destroyed.  The movie was based on a true story and I found myself unable to move sobbing in my seat at the end.  What a horrible situation. Fucking Nazi’s!

Part of what remains from the Ghetto, memories of families and people who lived there

DSC00154

I believe this was the building where people came in/out of into the ghetto (similar to the movie)

DSC00161

DSC00147

Location of where the wall was built

 
 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “Zookeeper’s wife

  1. Paula Schulman

    April 2, 2017 at 8:57 am

    I am wanting to see the movie. The fact that you where actually there made a deeper in pact on what you just saw again in the movie. I am scared for what can happen here in this country and as well what is going on right now in the rest of our world. No one should become a refugee and have to give up there home land.

     
    • Beth Katz

      April 2, 2017 at 10:14 am

      Couldn’t agree more. It was so real and hit home on so many levels. People had no idea what Hitler had in store for them. It was beyond words.

       
  2. Elisabeth Dubin

    April 2, 2017 at 1:09 pm

    Ok, I will go see it! I often avoid these movies for fear of emotional overload…

     

Leave a comment